The Gains Are On

Going to the gym and eating well without having a goal for what you want to achieve is not going to end very well. Making reachable and motivating goals is clue. My goal with doing strenght training; gaining muscle mass and strenght. In this post, I’ll provide an update on how exactly that is going, and how I’ve managed it!

2015-04-13 07.53.06

From February to the start of April, I had the same training program that I use now. So why didn’t I gain mass? I did gain strenght, yes, but the mass remained at the same. The thing was, that in the program planning, my PT, Kyle Farningham, and I concluded that I’d try out a kcal intake at 2700 a day. And you have to do it like that; try out an intake and see how it works. For me, 2700 wasn’t enough to gain mass.
What we’ve done from April and to end of May (now), is following the same strenght program, and turning up the kcal intake to 3100 a day. The results? Amazing!

2015-04-08 05.01.24

Having a PT doesn’t mean you don’t have to work hard yourself. You do have to work hard, because you’re the only one who can change your own body. Though I wouldn’t have been able to work half as hard as I do without a PT. To know what to do, and then go do it. I would still have been stuck in square one of strenght training if I never had these multiple PT sessions with Kyle, and also all the tips I get excluding from the actual sessions. To learn how to do things and to become more motivated is priceless!
I’m glad that I didn’t have to try out x-number of PTs before there was one that fit. The PT-and-customer thing is important to have on place, if not, the motivational part will quickly fade. Actually being friends with your PT is something I find highly important. So well, I’m very grateful for the day last autumn when Kyle walked up to me at the gym and asked me if I’d had my 2 free new-member PT sessions yet. I hadn’t had those yet, and that day was the start of gains, to say it simple.

2015-01-05 17.19.11

So the newest InBody scan of me, taken this Wedneday, showed amazing results of the past month’s work! I’ve only been doing strenght, no cardio. I run 8-day circles with restdays between, each circle with 2X workouts of legs, back+biceps, shoulders+triceps and core. I also go on walks and do yoga. After I cut out cardio and turned the food intake up to 3100 kcal a day; gains are on!
The main differences between the new InBody and the one I took a good month ago are;

  • Muscle mass up from 25,2 kg to 26,2 kg (up 1kg pure muscle!)
  • Total body weight up from 51,5 kg to 53,7 kg
  • For this amount of muscle gains, only up 0,6kg fat in comparison (fat percentage from 11,5 to 12,1)
  • Body strenght up to muscular all over, last time upper body wasn’t there yet

go hard or go home

I’m from the natural side a person with a genrally low fat percentage and need for high kcal intake. I’ve always been like that, and I will with all certainity be like that for the rest of my life. For me, it’s much easier to loose weight than to gain. So now that the goal is gaining muscle mass, I need to watch out that my kcal intake is high enough to do so. I used to think keeping track on kcal was bullshit, but now that I’ve gotten amazing results body-wise and in the gym with doing so, I’m glad I got to it. Many people think counting calories is a thing for weight loss. For me, it’s one of the best tools I have to keep a slight kcal-excess every day to be able to build muscle mass. And a question I often get about that; “Isn’t it stress?” The answer; “Not at all. I rather spend some minutes a day keeping track than loose gains because I was too lazy to do it.”

makin gains luv

When you really want to work to achieve results from your strenght training, your nutrition has got to be in place. And that’s another thing I’d be lost on without my PT Kyle Farningham. When I keep track on my nutrition and training, and get gains that way, I’m definetely a happier person!

So keep calm and work hard to achieve your goals!

I lift, eat healthy and wholesome, and I love my life!

2015-02-02 17.07.15

2015-01-19 17.57.44

About ingridchristi

The gym, studies, travel, the mountains and all things green! Twitter: @CRgenes
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

