Preventing Cravings

A good while ago, I didn’t even think it was possible to live well without chocolate at least twice a week. I didn’t think chocolate cravings was something you could get rid of without really any pain at all. That’s related to most “junk” cravings after all, so no matter if it’s ice cream or pizza, all you need is a plan and a huge amount of disipline and stubbornness. What I know now, is that those “junk” cravings all depends on what you eat, how you eat it and how you think about it.

Being a person who work out a lot and want to gain muscle mass, I obviously need to have an idea about how much I need to eat to be able to gain muscles. Even though it might seem like a lot of stress keeping track of your nutrition, it’s like preventing cravings; it’ll be a difficult the first few weeks, because you’re not used to it. But as you proceed, it breaks down to being an everyday doing you don’t think much about, just like logging your workouts and know when the bus leaves.
I realize that what I want most, gain strength and muscle mass, require certain things. Beast-mode workouts, wholesome nutrition, enough sleep, and of course disipline. To achieve what you want most, you need to know what you need to do and how you will do it. Whatever the goal, it’s going to reqire a great piece of work to get there.

My point is, when you know what your nutrition should be like, you can also better prevent cravings. When you get enough food and know about your macros (a little, at least), you’ll sail towards a body and mind being used to getting what it needs from healthy foods, and it don’t “have to” crave pizza or chocolate because you didn’t fulfill your needs of fats or magnesium, for example. There are even “maps” for what healthy foods to eat to prevent certain cravings;

2014-12-28 15.24.21

One of the most common problems I meet when people ask me for advice on preventing cravings, is not mentioned in the map above. It’s disipline and dedication. You might think “yeah, it’s easy for you to sit down in front of your laptop and write about how disipline helps”. I don’t write things I don’t mean. It’s taken years for me to get from being a craving-full kid to be a dedicated gym-goer who love to lift weights and eat healthy and wholesome more than anything else. When I was younger (and didn’t know shit), I though it was more like an overnight thing. I used to be like “I eat junk tonight, and tomorrow it’s all about eating healthy”. It’s like a New Year’s Resolution, you need to start a while before to make it work. It’s a gradual process. It’s like any other habit to learn, it’s difficult at first, but after a while you take it naturally. I realized I needed to do it gradually, not overnight.
Though I can’t say it enough; you don’t achieve anything without hard work. There are no escalators to success, you’re gonna have to take the stairs.

Also, make sure you actually enjoy your healthy meals. If you don’t like a certain type of healthy food, find an alternative. For example, if you literally hate the taste of tuna, then eat a couple eggs instead. There’s no diet that works for everyone. Though don’t give up on tasting new foods; it might fall weird to eat at first, but after some rounds you may end up getting a new favorite. I recently did that myself with sweet peppers and mozzarella. And when it’s mealtime; sit, calm down and enjoy the food. Don’t rush, take your time and get your meal-peace.

My final tip; knowledge. There’s a lot to know about nutrition, your own body and an active lifestyle. You can’t expect to get everything right at first. I learn new things about those things every day, from my own doings, friends, random people and my PT. As mentioned, I don’t write things I don’t mean. I mean this; if you’re struggling, consult a professional. It’s not a crazy thing getting some appointments with a nutrition expert or a set of PT-sessions. Seeing a professional isn’t stupid, it’s smart. You don’t have to do everything completely on your own, some serious advice is really helpful. And believe me, it’s worth the cost.

Keep calm and carry on! You’ll get there as long as your mind is with you!

2014-08-22 19.42.26

About ingridchristi

The gym, studies, travel, the mountains and all things green! Twitter: @CRgenes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

