Germany Travel; Thoughs & Photos

I returned to Norway yesterday after over a week in Germany (Hamburg and Frankfurt am Main). Of course, I didn’t particularly like leaving Germany, though at least the months and years have dragged on and I’m closer than ever to actually moving. I still have three years of school left in Norway, but with the speed like that of the past year, 2018 seems about okay. I mean, my everydays with school, training, friends and politics go past rapidly fast. There’s always lots to do, and I don’t mind that.

Having this week of holiday (in Norway we have the “Winter holiday” for a week), was freeing not only because I found myself in the country of Germany (also known as home), though also because I was free from having to do things on certain times of the day, and instead could do things more after what I felt like. I am a person who enjoys doing a lot, and I rarely sit around doing nothing, so the travel has been an active, experience-rich and knowledge-gaining one. It’s been cool to put away my regular training program for a week, and I have instead stayed active (and happy) by doing yoga, various strength workouts, swimming, powerwalking and jogging. Now I’m super-motivated to start off my new program this week (started with lower body today, actually)!

By every time I visit Germany, I learn a lot more about the country, the cities, the culture, and of course the language. I travel with my Dad, and we visit different cities, relatives, sights and ways to travel. To learn German, nothing beats a week surrounded with and speaking it all the time. I learn German in Norway, too. For example, my iPhone is set to German, I subscribe for a magazine, read books and think/write lots in German.

Here’s some of what we did during the travel:

2015-02-14 10.24.33

Alster lake in Hamburg. There’s a small one (this), and a larger one. The large one is 7,5km around and I did a couple of powerwalks around it.

2015-02-14 14.05.13

Vegetarian buffet restaurant? Danke, mehrmals! Here with Chili sin Carne, chickpeas, hummus, salad and carrots.

2015-02-16 10.44.28

“Kräutergarten”/”Herb Garden” from Eilles is a new favorite tea! Oh my, this is a good one!

2015-02-16 13.23.05

I have officially fallen in love with anything containing tuna. Like salads. I had some of those, to be exact. I just love all about tuna!

2015-02-17 18.29.01

2015-02-18 18.58.07

In Frankfurt am Main, in front of a glowing EURO-thing I found in the city centre.

2015-02-20 14.30.57

From the Helaba Bank’s view platform, that’s open for visitors. Great view of Frankfurt from 56th floor!

2015-02-20 17.43.40

Took a sunset-jog at the river Main’s sidewalk. Beautiful!

2015-02-21 21.27.55-1

“Eisene Brücke”, an iron bridge over river Main. 

2015-02-21 22.12.26

I’ve also fallen in love with wholegrain sandwiches with mozzarella and tomato!

About ingridchristi

The gym, studies, travel, the mountains and all things green! Twitter: @CRgenes
This entry was posted in health, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Germany Travel; Thoughs & Photos

  1. Karu says:

    You want to move to Germany? Or just study? 🙂

Leave a Reply

