On the Run Again (Plus a Workout!)

Finally!

After one and a half months off running, I’m finally back on again. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’ve had an overload damage on my left foot, preventing me from running, jumping and other exercises that include rolling the foot or “banging” it into the ground. X-rays showed that nothing was broken or half broken; thank God! Means I only needed to give my foot some space and do alternative training for a while.

I’ve been able to do all kinds of spinning and heavy leg exercises, even though running and jumping have been kept out of my workouts for this while. I’ve been so grateful that I could still keep up my condition and keep on gaining strenght in my legs, despite the foot-issue. Right now, I’m at the point where I’m allowed by my doctor to start up with running again, though I have to gradually adapt the intensity and duration of my running workouts, so that I will reduce the risk of falling back to the damage again. I had my first run this Wednesday, doing a half-hour jog on the treadmill (weather is awful at the time!). To my (almost) surprise, it didn’t hurt more than a tiny bit while doing it, and I was perfectly fine the day after, feeling no pain in the foot at all!

2014-09-23 21.11.34

(OK, so I do have an idea; finishing a great run!)

After one and a half months of mainly doing spinning as condition training, both intervals and long trips, I’m getting real tired of it. The first month I liked doing spinning, but I guess everything’s good in moderation. Though one exeptionally great thing came out of it; I’ve gotten a whole new lust for running. Before the damage, I was starting to get tired of running, and was grateful I could do spinning for a while. Now, it’s the other way around! I think that’s good. I’ll vary my two interval-, one short trip and one long trip workouts a week more, including both running and spinning.

Thursday is interval day, and after thinking a bit back and forth, I landed on three things: Go for running intervals, don’t start too hard, and try a new type of intervals. I managed all three, ending up with a very “free” feeling after running and a new “gainer-interval” program. The point with this program is simple; gain a little speed on these intervals each week, going on for nine weeks and finishing at the same time as my gainer strenght program does. (And; my foot is in no pain at all! It feels so amazing!)
Here’s the “gainer intervals” if you’d like to try them out:

  • Treadmill, incline 2.0 whole time.
  • 10 min warm up
  • 1 min run, 30 sec rest. Repeat 20X (Total time 30 min)
  • Choose a speed that you can keep steady through all the intervals. You may add a bit speed on the last one/couple last.
  • 5 min cooldown

Today, Saturday, this week’s long trip is on cue. It’s not a good idea for me to do two hours running all at once, so since I want to run a bit longer than on Wednesday (to add distance to my runs gradually), I’m doing a 45 min jog before strenght training. I don’t usually put strenght training into my long trips (it’s all about the endurance condition), though I have nothing against it either. Both for variation and for my foot at the time. And I do love strenght training, so I’m in no trouble with dealing with both! (Deadlifts come at me!)

For a little extra music for your workout playlist, here’s my top 5 tracks for workouts at the time:

  1. The Bad Touch-Bloodhound Gang
  2. EDM (Educational Dance Music)-Anders Nilsen
  3. We Are One (Ole Ola)-Pitbull
  4. Sun Goes Down-Robin Schulz
  5. Drop It Like This-TST

Have a great weekend, killer workouts and FitFam on!

2014-09-17 22.27.34

About ingridchristi

The gym, studies, travel, the mountains and all things green! Twitter: @CRgenes
This entry was posted in fitness, health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

