Work at a Grocery Store #5

At my school, we have something called working-week. It’s basically that high school students get a job for a week, and work instead of going to regular classes at school. We don’t get paid, though the point is to gain work experience and help us choose what education we’re going to take later on. It’s a thing that many Norwegian schools do, and companies are used to 14-16 year olds working for them. I’ve been at one such working week previously, in 9th grade, when I worked for Intersport, a sport store. Now, in 10th grade, I’m working for a grocery- and delicacy store called Helgø Meny for this week. I’m going to do a blog-diary, where I write about my experiences, tasks and everyday stuff happening at my contemporary place of work. Enjoy!

Day 5, 07.11.14:

Today has been my last day of this working-week. It’s been a very fun week, and I’ve learned and experienced a lot. I definetely enjoy store-work, and I’m planning to do some of that in the future, e.g at the side of studying.
Me and the other two students who worked at Helgø Meny this week got a lot of positive feedback from the store management, and was told to come back and apply for a job there when we turn 18. The thing is that the employees need to be able to do the cashier job as well, which include selling alcoholic beverages in addition to groceries. They would have hired us if they could, they said, because we were so good at everything else we did. So basically I’m taking that as a positive comment, and I feel confident for applying for a similar job later.
As for what I did today, I started with refilling various products. Products like crisp bread, WC cleaner, tissue paper, cakes, flour and brown sugar were to be refilled, and it was two nice, first hours at work. After that, I took out some paper and plastic trash, before shelf-organizing. Friday is a busy day at the store, since it’s the start of a weekend. Friday and Saturday are the two days where this store has the largest income, so I had enough to do at the shelves throughout the day!

About ingridchristi

The gym, studies, travel, the mountains and all things green! Twitter: @CRgenes
This entry was posted in diary, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

