Hike of the Year 2014, Part #4

Continuing from the last post, here you go with three more days from the hike I recently came back from. Still reciting from my notebook and adding photos I’ve taken. Enjoy!:

13.08.14:

I awoke to the alarm going off at 7:30AM, our usual “get up time” at this hike. The room was quite cold due to no warming other than that from the hall, and I was lying in a nice, warm “pocket” within my sleeping bag and blanket. It took a couple of minutes to get up, even though I was seriously considering snoozing until 8AM. But I don’t simply snooze, and thus I simply got up and threw on some warm clothes. I went to the building containing showers and dressing rooms to wash my face and slip into my hiking gear. Due to the fact that these facilities are in the same building as the hot drying room, a warm sensation got to me as I entered the door, much to my pleasure on a cold morning. At breakfast, I had the best coffee so far this hike. It tasted absolutely perfect and warmed me up deep inside.

Ready to set off a bit later, we started up the first hill side(kickstarting the hiking day, that is) leading to Uradalen, a higher valley with no forest. When Uradalen was walked through, and after about 3,5 hours at the paths we ate lunch in the shelter of a large rock. Then, we continued around Uradalsvatnet, a large lake surrounded with, yeah, rocks and paths. Until then, we had walked together, but now I took the lead. After some additional hours, I approached a small river where the regular bridge had been destroyed. I did my best to walk over rocks and low waters to get over it, and got it done with no more inguries than soaked shoes. Not bad, not bad at all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Uradalen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Uradalsvatnet (lake).

The last half hour to Fondsbu, which is the hut we headed to today, I hiked together with a woman I met at the path. She’d also walked from Skogadalsbøen, but she’d set off earlier in the morning than what we had, which explains why I didn’t see her before the very last part of the hike. She was also the only person (except Dad, of course) I met during today’s hike. It was nice to have some company at the end, even though I really don’t mind walking alone either.

We will stay at Fondsbu for two days now, before driving back to Eidfjord, Hardanger, on Saturday. Then we’ll drive the last part home on Sunday.

-Ingrid Christine

14.08.14:

We were thinking of going to Slettmarkhøe (2190m) today if the weather showed itself from a good side. In the morning and towards lunchtime, low clouds were still hugging the mountains, and I was, to put it nicely, very tired. Like, I has slept and all that (not one of those days where you basically survive with lots of coffee), but it was like my head needed a break more than my body did. We walked for about five minutes, before we figured this wouldn’t become a great hike with today’s state of mine. Especially when pointed out that the hike would take at least 8 hours. I guess my coordination-centre in my brain needed a break after day after day with hardcore balancing and stepping though all kinds of landscapes for many hours a day.

We returned to the hut, and Dad read some while I did a small strenght workout for upper body (less use of coordination, yay). Afterwards, a little before lunchtime, we took a short hike up to a nearby view-point peak. The weather had cleared up by now, and the sun was shining. We ate lunch under the peak while watching reindeer and great views of Jotunheimen. As we returned to the hut after a few hours, I washed my hair and then retreated into the lounge to have some coffee and read some. Later in the afternoon, I took an hour outdoors to walk beside the beautiful, large lake Bygdin, close to the hut.

Now that I’ve done a vary of alternative activities today, I feel set and energized for tomorrow, when we have both signed up for a guided hike to Uranostind (2157m).

-Ingrid Christine

15.08.14

For the last full hiking day this trip, we did as I mentioned in yesterday’s diary go to Uranostind today. I also took a “quick fix” an extra half hour to Slingsbytinden (2026m) with some others from the group. On our group was seven other people plus the guide, who also today is a Nepalese Sherpa, though a different one than him I had when I went to Falketind last week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On our way to the peaks. Slingsbytinden is the one dominating the photo.

The weather was great, the issue was nevertheless than the seven other people on the group was quite a lot slower than me, Dad and the guide. This resulted in increased amounts of waiting time, and thus the hike took longer today than it would have had if we’d walked at the pace of me, Dad and the guide. Though the way down from the summit was a bit better, because we all walked faster over the glacier than when we’d walked it up some hours earlier. Also, I walked in front the part after the glacier on the way down, and thus came to the dirt road half an hour before everyone else did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the ridge.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

We are approaching the peak of Uranostind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Looking down to the alpine Uranos-ridge (you know, just a goal of mine).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Me and Dad striking a pose at the peak.

Since Uranostind has a couple of secondary peaks and an awesome and challenging ridge, I’d love to do the ridge once. It’s just so cool and exiting! Today’s hike was OK as well though, and reaching the peak was totally worth it even with slowing people on the group. Walking on the glacier, the narrow part of the ridge to the peak and taking the “quick fix” by walking to Slingsbytinden made the hike quite cool, actually.  It will be strange to be driving towards home tomorrow. At least we drive in two parts, and we will stay at the hotel in Eidfjord tomorrow night, before driving home on Sunday. I look forward to hiking in our local mountains close to home as well!

-Ingrid Christine

(Next post will be an epilogue, where I reflect over many things post-hike. Follow up!)

 

About ingridchristi

The gym, studies, travel, the mountains and all things green! Twitter: @CRgenes
This entry was posted in diary, health, nature, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

